WHAT? Lettuce is NOT suppose to freeze in fridge!

This is news to me. I thought everything that was in the back of the fridge is suppose to freeze – – cheese, veggies, lettuce, everything and anything. I was reading The Haggler, the New York Times column written by David Segal, and I came across a Whirlpool update: ” I wanted to let you know that the new refrigerator was delivered on Tuesday. And it sounds like a normal fridge! Also, I put a bag of lettuce toward the back of the fridge and it didn’t freeze.

WHAT?!? Is this is a joke? I had my own nightmare of a fridge and after a year of constant repairs (the water dispenser kept freezing) I finally connected with a wonderful helpful rep on the phone and she actually had it replaced. I wanted to write a nice letter to her supervisor but I was afraid they would fire her for replacing the fridge . . .  since absolutely no one else I spoke with would do anything except send a repair person over with lots of sticky tape! Read my February 23, 2011 post for details:   https://thesommertimes.wordpress.com/tag/kitchenaid-nightmare/

I can’t even begin to tell you how many veggies, cheeses, and just about anything in the back of my fridge has to be thrown out because it all freezes if I leave it in the fridge for more than a day. So I read the column last week, went shopping, bought some chicken cutlets to stir fry, put the package in the bottom drawer and by the next day it was frozen. And when I say bottom drawer I don’t mean the freezer! I still dream of trashing my Kitchenaid fridge and I’ve talked several of my friends out of buying one . . . but, probably, not enough to make a difference.

Spread the word — And the word is NOT Kitchenaid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Home Improvement, Long Island Living, Real life

Leave a Reply

