its all i want, is to fall apart with you . . .

Drinking coffee, eating breakfast, listening to music, reading the paper with my drew on Saturday morning. Tonight we are going to see Alejandro Escovedo and the Sensitive Boys at the Bell House in Brooklyn. We’ve never been to the Bell House and the tickets are general admission. I don’t know if there is seating.

Every time we go to a concert and we have to stand I say to Drew, “That’s it. I’m not going to another concert unless there are seats.”  But sometimes you just don’t know.

A while back, Hannah and Drew were going to the Wellmont Theater to see the Decemberists. I was staying home because it was general admission. Then hours before they left I saw online that there were seats upstairs and I bought one ticket. I don’t mind sitting alone at the concert. We would have plenty of family time together while sitting in rush hour traffic driving to New Jersey. We walked into the theater and there were seats in the main area after all. (I snuck in and sat with my honeys.) 

So when Drew said, “What should we do? I know you don’t like to stand but I can’t figure out if there are seats or not,”  I responded by saying, “That’s okay, I don’t want to be too old to go to a concert. I’ll take an Aleve and wear my comfortable sneakers ,” (and Drew will take cotton for his ears) and we will make it work. There is always room on the floor. I can rest and then text Drew to come and  help me off the floor — slowly, carefully — in a way that doesn’t hurt his back. Or we can leave early.

And so Saturday morning, Drew played Alejandro Escovedo’s new album, Street Songs of Love. And the following lyrics caught my attention:

its all she wants/ is to fall apart with me/

all i want/ is to fall apart with you/

My thoughts exactly!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby boomer, Empty nesting, Music, Real life

Leave a Reply

