Get A Grip — A Good One & Don’t Forget the Coupon

For years I mourned the loss of my vintage can opener. I say vintage as in “old, very old, gunky.” It was a simple can opener with a bottle opener on one end and a little flip lever for jars on the other. I loved it. Could have been a family heirloom. It was so reliable for so many years, opened every can it got it’s sharp little teeth on. And then one day — it broke!

Friends recommended an electric can opener. No, I don’t open that many cans and, besides, the less electronic appliances I have on my counter, the happier I am. And, seriously now, what if the electricity went out and all I had to eat was a can of tuna? I like to be prepared.

I kept the broken can opener in my silverware drawer for the longest time. I thought maybe, just maybe, I can find a replacement. So I searched the stores. Big stores, little ma and pa stores, dollar stores . . . The simpler the better, that’s what I had and that’s what I wanted again.

I came across a lot of can openers during my shopping trips. I didn’t want a big clunky one. I didn’t want one that cut around the can so that the lid had no sharp edges. I finally found the one I wanted. The price was right. I took it home and when it was time to open a can my heart was pounding. It was a can of tuna. I was making Drew’s salad for lunch. I clamped down on the can and started turning the handle. I couldn’t get  a good grip. The can slipped into the sink leaving a trail of stinky tuna oil everywhere. The handle was thin and slippery. I finally managed to open the can. It wasn’t easy. The next time I opened a can and every single time after that the same thing happened.

My Magnificent OXO Good Grips Can Opener

Can you believe the quality of all these cans? What’s going on? It took me a while to realize that it was the can opener, not the can that was crappy. I finally gave in. Off to Bed Bath and Beyond, me and my coupon, we went. I coordinated the trip with dinner with Sylvia. She was thrilled to meet me there. (She also came with coupons in hand.) I kept going back to the OXO Good Grips can opener.

I just didn’t want something so big. I picked it up and put it down several times. Then I picked it up and walked around the store. I felt comfortable embracing it. I was feeling good, good enough to buy it. And I’m glad I did!

Leave a comment

Filed under Empty nesting, Everyday Woman, Long Island Living

Leave a Reply

