Bouncy Brisket and Other Holiday Dishes

Fresh brisket is an inexpensive boneless cut that requires long, slow cooking to break down the collagen in the connective muscle tissues to achieve tenderness. With a little bit of time and the proper cooking method, even the toughest piece of meat can be made palatable. Brisket is one of the least tender cuts of beef . .

I found the above information on the web. Every year it’s the same thing — where should I buy my brisket? This year I went to Fairway and bought what looked like a nice  healthy hunk of meat. I couldn’t see the layer of fat on the bottom, looked like there was hardly any fat but I was sure there was some – has to be — I think the slow cooking and the  glob of fat tenderizes the meat as it cooks.

So I browned and drowned my brisket as I always do and then baked it in the oven for hours. Drew had to cut a thick layer of fat off the brisket. Was it better than Stop n Shop brisket or Waldbaum’s? I don’t think so. I think the key is to get small pieces and use a large glass baking dish. I make it because it’s a great make ahead dish and everyone (except Hannah) eats it but I’m getting tired of making it and wondering about the tenderness of the meat.

Matzo balls are in the pot now. Swiss chard and carrot dish looks good and I have enough asparagus to feed 20 but it will probably be gone by tomorrow.

And, my back is out. Took 2 Aleve and iced my back but I’m still wobbling around. I think that pain in my leg has something to do with this fiasco. Not happy. So I thought I would quickly write this and be done with it. Nothing exciting but just over 300 words.

Leave a comment

Filed under Long Island Living

Leave a Reply

