Feeling Groovy

Maybe I’m a bit optimistic but I think Stanley’s days of living it up in my house are coming to an end. Yesterday I was so traumatized by his presence in the crawl space that I didn’t get a good night’s sleep. I wasn’t home today so I don’t know for sure if he’s been around but I just couldn’t get him out of my mind.

I called Mady and she gave me the name of a trapper. It was one of those “friend of a friend’ referrals. I called him. I wasn’t sure what I was going to say. We spoke and he gave me a few good pointers.

Most importantly he said, and he is not the only one, that the squirrel probably found another way out or it would be dead. Look for a fresh pile of saw dust. I went out back and crawled around and found what looked like saw dust and above it — a hole. Yup, I found it. Well, I think I feel better because now I know he isn’t trapped and he won’t wind up dead in my house.

Tomorrow night I will set up a trap on the outside. I’ll probably have to use some patio blocks to line up the trap’s opening to the hole in the house. I say tomorrow night because tonight my partner -in-squirrel -trapping is at the Elton John concert at the Garden. Drew wants no part of it, so I’ll wait.

Getting a new garden shed on Monday. Yay! I’m concerned because I’m having my old shed torn down in the next day or so and I don’t want this to interfere with my squirrel trapping. Maybe I can get them to keep down the noise . . . cut down that metal shed quietly, please.

Preparing for trip to Seattle . .  haircut today, color tomorrow. Bought walking shoes and a raincoat. Am I repeating myself? Signing up for a cooking class one afternoon . . .

Just started reading The Memory Palace. It’s a 2 week loan so I’ll finish it before we leave. Need to bring 2 books with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Long Island Living, Squirrel Trouble

Leave a Reply

