Happy Smiley Family Face

Picked up the girls at LGA last night. They spent three days eating three meals a day and lounging by the pool with Grandma and Grandpa in Florida. They looked relaxed, tan, and a bit pudgy. For some reason Grandma Jenny thinks that if you aren’t eating meat (my hannah, the vegetarian) then you should eat an extra serving of pasta! I don’t think the girls are used to eating three full meals a day plus fruit, cookies, and whatever additional snacks offered.

We drove them to the city. It was a good time to have a chat. “You and Grandpa have the same smile when family is together,” says my ever observant hannah to her smiley dad. “What? What do you mean? Do  you know what she’s talking about?” he says to me. “Yup, exactly. It’s that happy smiley face you have on when everyone is together,” I respond. Giggles from the back seat.

Three very happy smiley family faces!!!

We took Hannah home first. She was going to Jessica’s on the UWS and we were going to take her there. “I’ll be quick, just a half hour,” she says when we drop her off. We went to Rachel’s apartment and waited for Hannah’s phone call. An hour and a half later I call Hannah, “What’s happening? Are you ready?”Oh, no rush, I’m getting ready. Take your time with whatever you’re doing,” she responds. Take our time? Oh, she means, take our time waiting for Hannah to get ready.

Upon Josh’s arrival (he has a key!) we decided it was time to leave. After all, they haven’t seen each other in 2 weeks. They don’t need us sitting on the couch waiting. But it wasn’t until Rachel turned to Josh and squealed, “You look like a pumpkin and you smell,” that we actually stood up to leave. If you ask me Rachel was practicing Annoying Love (see Feb. 9th post) on Josh. Hey, it works for us!

I notice that when Drew is on a diet, I lose weight. When he goes off his diet, I gain weight. What I won’t tell you is all the piggy things we’ve been eating these past few weeks. I am a pudge and I dare not step on a scale this week! So this morning I said to Drew, “What do you want for breakfast?” The usual choices are eggs or cottage cheese and veggies. But before he could answer I said, “How ’bout pancakes?” I really didn’t mean it. I was joking but when I saw the loving look on his face I knew it was trouble. “Pancakes? Okay,” he answered immediately. Damn, trouble ahead. Do I even have pancake mix? I didn’t have blueberries but I did have bananas. “Check the cupboard, maybe there is some Bisquick I can use,” I tell him. He jumped out of his chair, made a mad dash to the kitchen cupboard, grabbed the expired Bisquick, put it on the counter and hugged me while giggling madly.” I love you so much.”  Wow, the power of pancakes.

Okay, so I make the pancakes and serve them with real maple syrup. Let’s see, that’s 2 cups Bisquick, 1 cup milk, and 2 eggs — and thinly sliced bananas. I know this recipe quite well, and here’s why: Drew and I were plowing thru the stack and, at some point, I started thinking these pancakes were awful dense. I got up, checked the recipe on the Bisquick box and I was right — they were way too dense because I forgot to add the eggs. Had to make a second pot of coffee to wash them down. I can’t believe I wasted a piggy breakfast splurge and screwed up.  Already I’m thinking that I have to be prepared for the next time . . . I’ll need to start stocking organic blueberries and pancake mix.

Tomorrow: Shopping with Drew and what happened to his new winter coat. (Keep your audience wanting more.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Real life

Leave a Reply

